Back to top

Nine Avatars with nine values for us!

Ever since childhood, I have been observing fast on NavratrI, as a child the only motive was to relish the food made for fast but later it became a religious belief to worship Maa Durga for 9 days.

As I observe fast for navratri this year and worship goddess Durga’s 9 avatars, a thought comes over, what are the qualities that we can imbibe each of these 9 days?

I think the 9 values or virtues whatever you wish to name them are:

Day1: Shailaputri-Fly High

She is the daughter of the mountains and teaches us never to give up and fly high to achieve all our dreams. Never be afraid of the heights and reach the top.

Day2: Bharmachirini-Spread Happiness

She fills our lives with bliss and happiness and leads us towards contentment in life. So, spread happiness around you through your acts and make people smile.

Day3: Chandraghanta- Realize your strength

She is the apostle of bravery and possesses great strength. She inspires us to be brave and realize and build our inner strength and a stronger physical strength to fight against any odd.

Day4: Kushmanda- creator of new life

She is considered the creator of the universe, the one brightened up the darkness in universe. Similarly we have been blessed with the wonderful power of bringing in new life in form of babies in this world and enlighten everyone’s life  with happiness and joy.

Day5: Skanda Mata- Commander-in-chief

She was chosen by gods as their commander in chief in the war against the demons. We are all the same in our daily lives at home and at work. She inspires us to fulfill our duties and maintain the dignity of our position.

Day6: Katyayani- Grant wishes

Katyayani was born to Kata as an avatar of goddess Durga and his wish for having a daughter was granted. We also grant so many wishes throughout the day of our kids, elders, husband and others from food to dresses and happily so.

Day7: Durga- Don’t be afraid of dark

Goddess Durga is black like goddess Kali and holds a sparkling sword in her right hand to battle against all evil. She teaches us to not be afraid of any darkness in life neither of the ones that exist in society nor of the color of skin (you are beautiful always).

Day8: Maha Gauri- Intelligence and Calm

She is the goddess who is intelligent, peaceful and calm. Also, Maha Gauri means extremely white which indicates calmness and purity. She inspires us to remain calm and composed and to practice intelligence leading ti peacefulness in every walk of life.

Day9: Siddhidatri- Healing Powers

It is believed that goddess Siddhidatri has supernatural healing powers and is always in a blissful happy pose. Doesn’t she remind us of our mothers? Yes, our mothers have the healing powers just their soft touch on our forehead or head seems to drain off all the negativity from life.

Shat shat naman to goddess Durga. Shubh Navratri and Happy Kanjaka pujan!!

Share With Your Friends

Post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *